Three Rams Named All-Skyline for Women's Volleyball; Hande Tabbed Player of the Year

Picture of Skyline Logo

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference's 11 women's volleyball head coaches have cast their votes for the 2017 edition of the all-conference team and for the second consecutive year, Farmingdale State College sophomore setter/right side Julia Hande (Islip, N.Y.) has been tabbed as Player of the Year.

Senior middle blocker Maia Cadle-Hinton (Huntington, N.Y.) earned First Team All-Conference honors, while junior setter Lauren Anne Strezenec (Merrick, N.Y.) was named to the Second Team. Head coach Kristy Nix was named Skyline Conference Coach of the Year.

Hande appeared in 26 matches with 25 starts. She led the team in kills (300) and kills per set (3.19), was second in digs (328), attacking percentage (.245), assists (202) and aces (61) and fourth for blocks (41). In the Skyline, Hande was second for kills, fourth in both aces and digs and fifth in attacking percentage. She was fifth in the NCAA for triple-doubles (4), 42nd in aces per set and 53rd in total aces.

Cadle-Hinton started 27 of FSC's 28 matches and led the team in blocks (110), solo blocks (41) and attacking percentage (.277), was second in both kills (222) and kills per set (2.34) and fifth for service aces (34). She led the conference in blocks, was third for attacking percentage and seventh in kills. Nationally, Cadle-Hinton ranked 10th in blocks per set (1.16) and 18th for total blocks.

Strezenec started 27 matches and led Farmingdale State in assists (625) and aces (77) and was third for digs (269). She was the Skyline Conference leader in service aces and ranked sixth for assists. In Division III, Strezenec was 12th in both aces per set (0.8) and total aces.

Nix, in her first season at Farmingdale State, led the Rams to a 20-8 overall record and a perfect 10-0 mark in the conference. FSC held a 13-game winning streak as they entered the playoffs as the overall #1 seed.


2017 Skyline Conference Women's Volleyball All-Conference Teams

First Team

Shannon Brady, Maritime (Sr., OH; Bayport, N.Y.)
Maia Cadle-Hinton, Farmingdale State (Sr., MB; Huntington, N.Y.)
Julimar Figueroa, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., LIB; Dorado, Puerto Rico)
Julia Hande, Farmingdale State (So., S/RS; Islip, N.Y.)
Kyleigh Kappas, USMMA (So., S; Parker, Colo.)
Tara Maloney, Mount Saint Vincent (So., OH; Williston Park, N.Y.)
Dominique Pope, USMMA (Sr., OH; Silver Spring, Md.)
Claire Urizzo, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Sr., OH; Medford, N.Y.)

Second Team

Melanie Coleman, Sarah Lawrence (Fr.., MB; Forest Hills, N.Y.)
Nina DiCioccio, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (Jr., MH/OH; Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Kim Gries, Mount Saint Mary (Jr., S; Hicksville, N.Y.)
Nicole Henderson, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., S; Bergenfield, N.J.)
Kate Lefler, USMMA (Jr., OH; Norman, Okla.)
Danielle Senecal, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Jr., LIB; Manorville, N.Y.)
Lauren Anne Strezenec, Farmingdale State (Jr., S; Merrick, N.Y.)

Player of the Year: Julia Hande, Farmingdale State
Rookie of the Year: Melanie Coleman, Sarah Lawrence
Coach of the Year: Kristy Nix, Farmingdale State (first season)


To view the complete Skyline Conference press release, click HERE.