Georgiev and Magoulas Named Skyline Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Picture of Skyline Logo

New York, N.Y. - A Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award is presented to the first-team All-Conference performer who carries the highest grade point average (minimum 3.30) for the semester in which the student-athlete competes. In the sports of basketball and swimming and diving, the highest cumulative grade point average (minimum 3.30) for both the fall and spring semesters of 2017-18 was used.

Farmingdale State senior Nikola Georgiev (Kings Park, N.Y.) and freshman Marina Magoulas (Central Islip, N.Y.) were named Scholar-Athletes of the Year in men's outdoor track and field and women's outdoor track and field, respectively. Georgiev won the 100 meter dash (11.24) at the inaugural Skyline Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championship, while also running on the Rams' victorious 4x100 and 4x400 meter relay sides. Magoulas kicked off her inaugural outdoor campaign by winning the Skyline Championship's hammer throw event with a toss of 37.94m (124' 6").


2017-18 Skyline Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year

  • Baseball: Joe Raab, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
  • Men's Basketball: Simcha Halpert, Yeshiva
  • Women's Basketball: Charlotte Renker, Old Westbury
  • Men's Cross Country: Curtis Bates, Maritime
  • Women's Cross Country: Erin MacDonell, St. Joseph's-Long Island
  • Golf: Dylan Legg, Mount Saint Mary
  • Men's Lacrosse: James Fitzgerald, Mount Saint Vincent
  • Women's Lacrosse: Morgan Cordes, Mount Saint Mary
  • Men's Soccer: Jorey Garcia, Old Westbury
  • Women's Soccer: Bridget McKeever, Mount Saint Mary
  • Softball: Rachel Heizer, Mount Saint Vincent
  • Men's Swimming and Diving: Christopher Kahl, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
  • Women's Swimming and Diving: Erica Lou, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
  • Men's Tennis: Mikey Ozery, Yeshiva
  • Women's Tennis: Shani Hava, Yeshiva
  • Men's Outdoor Track and Field: Nikola Georgiev, Farmingdale State
  • Women's Outdoor Track and Field: Marina Magoulas, Farmingdale State
  • Men's Volleyball: Tyler Jones, St. Joseph's-Long Island
  • Women's Volleyball: Claire Urizzo, St. Joseph's-Long Island