Rams Headed to Middlebury for NCAA First Round

Rams Headed to Middlebury for NCAA First Round

- Full NCAA Release - Tournament Bracket - Directions -

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Committee has selected the 49 teams that will compete in the 2017 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships.

Farmingdale State's women's tennis team will travel to Middlebury, Vermont to face SUNY Geneseo this Friday, May 12, in the first round of the NCAA Division III Tennis Tournament. Match time has yet to be determined. The winner will move on to the second-round on Saturday against Middlebury (Vt.), host for the six-team regional, which received a first-round bye.

The Rams (15-4) punched their ticket to the NCAA Tournament with a 5-2 victory over St. Joseph's-L.I. for the Skyline Conference Championship and the conference's automatic bid.

The Knights (12-8) earned an automatic bid to the tournament by defeating New Paltz, 5-1, to win the State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) Championship.

Geneseo is making their sixth straight trip to the Tournament, while the Rams are making their fourth straight appearance.


More info on the Championships...

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second- and third-rounds played at regional sites, Friday-Sunday, May 12-14, or Thursday-Saturday, May 11-13. University of the South and the Chattanooga Sports Commission will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 22-27 at The Champions Tennis Club in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 10.

The championships provide for a 49-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 38 conference champions, which form "Pool A." Two teams were selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining nine teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:


Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference - Franciscan (13-4)
American Southwest Conference - East Texas Baptist (18-4)
Capital Athletic Conference - Mary Washington (19-5)
Centennial Conference - Johns Hopkins (16-5)
City University of New York Athletic Conference - Baruch (11-5)
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin - Augustana (Illinois) (24-6)
Colonial States Athletic Conference - Gwynedd Mercy (14-0)
Commonwealth Coast Conference - Nichols (14-3)
Empire 8 - Ithaca (13-6)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference - Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island (15-3)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference - Rose-Hulman (13-2)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Coe College (18-9)
Landmark Conference - Elizabethtown (13-4)
Liberty Conference - Skidmore (13-8)
Little East Conference - Bridgewater State (11-5)
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth - Messiah (11-7)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom - Wilkes (23-0)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association - Hope (18-3)
Midwest Conference - St. Norbert College (23-11)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Gustavus Adolphus (19-7)
New England Small College Athletic Conference - Williams (15-4)
New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference - MIT (10-0)
New Jersey Athletic Conference - The College of New Jersey (14-3)
North Coast Athletic Conference - Kenyon (11-9)
North Eastern Athletic Conference - Colby-Sawyer (16-5)
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference - Concordia Wisconsin (16-10)
Northwest Conference - Whitman (15-5)
Ohio Athletic Conference - John Carroll (16-9)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference - Washington and Lee (20-5)
Presidents' Athletic Conference - Westminster (Pennsylvania) (15-5)
Skyline Conference - Farmingdale State (14-4)
Southern Athletic Association - University of the South (19-5)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (26-0)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference - Trinity (Texas) (17-7)
State University of New York Athletic Conference - SUNY Geneseo (9-1)
University Athletic Association - Emory (13-5)
USA South Athletic Conference - Methodist (17-6)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Wisconsin-Whitewater (19-7)

The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championship from Pool B
and Pool C candidates:

Northwestern-St. Paul (23-5)
St. Scholastica (18-5)

Amherst (6-9)
Pomona-Pitzer (15-7)
Bowdoin (14-5)
Tufts (14-6)
Chicago (16-4)
Wesleyan (Connecticut) (11-4)
Carnegie Mellon (17-7)
Washington U. in St. Louis (12-10)
Middlebury (14-4)

Emory is the defending national champion, having defeated Williams, 5-1, to claim the team title. For more information about the championships, including the championships bracket, log on to www.ncaa.com.