Women's Lacrosse has Five All-Conference Selections

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference's eight head women's lacrosse coaches have cast their ballots for the 2019 edition of the all-conference team.

Farmingdale State junior midfielder Courtney Gendels (Wantagh, N.Y.) and senior defender Haley Newberg (West Islip, N.Y.) were each named to the First Team, while senior attack Jessica Spina (Lindenhurst, N.Y.), junior midfielder Sam Shelton (Holtsville, N.Y.) and junior defender Melanie Tencic (Farmingdale, N.Y.) earned Second Team honors.

Gendels led the Rams in goals (61) and points (76) and ranked third in ground balls with 20. She was third in the Skyline Conference and 77th in the Nation for goals scored.

Newberg anchored the FSC defense and was fourth on the team with 15 caused turnovers. She started every game she appeared in over her four-year career at Farmingdale State.

Spina, who was the teams assist leader at 29, also was second in points (42). In the Skyline, Spina was fourth in total assists and fifth for assists per game.

Shelton led the team in draw controls (67), was second in goals (31) and third for both points (41) and caused turnovers (14). She was seventh in the Skyline for draw controls per game (3.53).

Tencic caused 19 turnovers (third most on team) and scored one goal from her defensive position. She caused at least one turnover in 14 games this season.


2019 Skyline Conference Women's Lacrosse All-Conference

First Team:
Krista Deleva, A - Maritime
Courtney Gendels, A - Farmingdale State
Lauryn Gregson, A - St. Joseph's-Long Island
Meredith Willard, A - USMMA
Jessie Wohner, A - USMMA
Maura Malone, M - USMMA
Jessica Reilly, M - USMMA
Nicole Stoppelli, M - St. Joseph's-Long Island
Natasha Treuman, M - Old Westbury
Cara Bebey, D - USMMA
Katherine Buser, D - Maritime
Samantha Caruso, D - St. Joseph's-Long Island
Haley Newberg, D - Farmingdale State
Maddie Schmidt, D - USMMA
Hannah Gizzi, GK - USMMA
Lindsay Ramos, GK - St. Joseph's-Long Island

Second Team:
Courtney Condron, A - Mount Saint Mary
Emma Dell'Aquila, A - Mount Saint Vincent
Grace McHugh, A - USMMA
Jessica Spina, A - Farmingdale State
Gabriella Castles, M - Purchase
Kelly Midas, M - USMMA
Catherine Pfundstein, M - Maritime
Sam Shelton, M - Farmingdale State
Hope Blanc, D - Mount Saint Mary
Kacey Brown, D - Mount Saint Vincent 
Yaritza Caraballo, D - Old Westbury
Melanie Tencic, D - Farmingdale State
Esmerelda Hernandez, GK - Maritime

Offensive Player of the Year: Meredith Willard, USMMA
Defensive Player of the Year: Hannah Gizzi, USMMA
Rookie of the Year: Jessie Wohner, USMMA
Coach of the Year: Alyssa Guido, Maritime (first season) and Kyle Simensky, USMMA (seventh season)