Rams Roll Past MSMC; Advance to Skyline Finals

Rams Roll Past MSMC; Advance to Skyline Finals

#1 Farmingdale State - 22, #4 Mount Saint Mary - 8

Farmingdale, N.Y. - The top-seeded Farmingdale State women's lacrosse team earned a 22-8 victory over #4 Mount Saint Mary this afternoon in the Skyline Conference Semifinals. With the win, the Rams have clinched a berth into the Skyline Finals for the sixth straight season.

Tied 1-1, FSC (16-1) regained the lead with 24:03 left in the first half on an unassisted goal by sophomore midfielder Kristen Keller (Westbury, N.Y.). After a score from Brittany Rosino (North Babylon, N.Y.), Keller followed with her second goal of the afternoon to extend the Rams advantage to 4-1.

With 18:17 on the clock, Rosino netted a pass from Victoria Varone (Commack, N.Y.) to give Farmingdale State a four-goal edge. Only 29 seconds later, Varone added a goal to put FSC out in front, 6-1.

Leading 8-3 with less than 12 minutes remaining, Farmingdale State closed the half with scores from Courtney Gendels (Wantagh, N.Y.), Varone and Mia Johnson (Brentwood, N.Y.) and allowed one MSMC (7-8) goal to take an 11-4 advantage into the break.

The Rams opened the second half with goals by Varone (2), Gendels (2), Rosino (2), Megan Sullivan (Farmingdale, N.Y.), Samantha Morra (Levittown, N.Y.) to extend the lead to 19-4. Over the final 13 minutes, Mount Saint Mary outscored FSC, 4-3, as the Rams earned the semifinal win.

Gendels finished with a game-high eight points on four goals and four assists, while Rosino added a game-high seven goals. Varone scored four goals and had one assist for FSC. Sophomore goalkeeper Tori Johnston (Hauppauge, N.Y.) tallied two saves and allowed five goals in 51:32 of action.

The Knights were led by Katie Gattoni's (Old Tappan, N.J.) team-high six points with five goals and one assist.

Farmingdale State will host the winner of #2 St. Joseph's-LI/#3 Old Westbury in the Skyline Conference Finals on Saturday, May 6th at noon. The winner of Saturday's game receives the conference's automatic bid to the 2017 NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship.