Harrison Headlines Conference Women's Basketball Awards

Harrison Headlines Conference Women's Basketball Awards

- Harrison earns POY honors in first season at FSC -

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference released the 2015-16 Women's Basketball All-Conference Teams on Friday, February 26th after voting was conducted by the league's nine head coaches. Farmingdale State sophomore guard Tyra Harrison (Baldwin, N.Y.) was tabbed the Skyline Conference Player of the Year.

Harrison, who averaged 22.0 points per game, led the conference in scoring this season, ranked second in steals (84) and third in both assists (100) and assist to turnover ratio. Amongst Division III, she is currently ranked fourth in field goals made (212), fifth for scoring and triple-doubles (1), 18th in steals and 48th in free-throw percentage.

This season, she broke the school record for steals in a game with 13 on January 20, posted the third-most points in a game with 45 points on February 11th and posted the third-most assists in a game with 11 on January 20. Her 571 points this year, places her 4th all-time for points in a season. She was a three-time Skyline Conference Player of the Week, once was named to the D3hoops.com National Team of the Week and was a two-time Met Basketball Writers Association Honorable Mention.


2015-16 Skyline Women's Basketball All-Confernce Team

First Team:
Christina Barone - Mount Saint Vincent - Jr. - G - Staten Island, N.Y.
Tyra Harrison* - Farmingdale State - So. - G - Baldwin, N.Y.
Andrea Iavarone - St. Joseph's (L.I.) - So. - F - Miller Place, N.Y.
Jessica Rini Mount - Saint Mary - So. - F - Seaford, N.Y.
Jasmine Robinson - Old Westbury - Jr. - G - Greenburgh, N.Y.
Gen Schoff - Sage - So. - G/F - Little Falls, N.Y.

Second Team:
Crystal Barnes - Old Westbury - Sr. - C - Brooklyn, N.Y.
Destiny Marino - St. Joseph's (Bklyn.) - So. - G - Middle Village, N.Y.
Elizabeth Osowiecki - Purchase - Sr. - F - Franklin Square, N.Y.
Julia Owen - Yeshiva - Sr. - F - Seattle, Wash.
Frankie Pearson - Sage - Jr. - G - Hoosick Falls, N.Y.

* Player of the Year: Tyra Harrison, Farmingdale State
Defensive Player of the Year: Jasmine Robinson, Old Westbury
Co-Rookie of the Year: Kayla Cleare, Mount Saint Mary / Emily Parslow, Sage
Coach of the Year: Allison Coleman, Sage (second season)

To view the complete Skyline Conference release, click HERE.