Webb Tosses No-Hitter as Rams Win Fourth Straight Skyline Championship

Webb Tosses No-Hitter as Rams Win Fourth Straight Skyline Championship

#3 Farmingdale State - 10, #1 Sage - 0  F/5

Troy, N.Y. - Junior pitcher Taylor Webb (West Babylon, N.Y.) threw a no-hitter in today's 10-0 win over top-seeded Sage to lead Farmingdale State to their fourth consecutive Skyline Championship. The Rams earned the conference's automatic bid to the 2014 NCAA Division III Softball Tournament.

Sophomore catcher Meagan Anderson (Patchogue, N.Y.) led off the game with a bunt single and later scored on a Michelle Mongiello (Elmont, N.Y.) RBI single to center to quickly put Farmingdale State (23-12) ahead 1-0.

The Rams extended their lead to 2-0 in the second inning on an RBI single to center by junior shortstop Hillary Genova (Brentwood, N.Y.).

In the top of the fourth, Anderson hit a two out RBI single to left field, before Mongiello's RBI double to right center increased the advantage to 4-0.

Freshman second baseman Victoria D'Alessandro (Massapequa, N.Y.) put Farmingdale State on top 5-0 in the fifth with an RBI fielder's choice and the Rams followed with an unearled run to make it 6-0. With two outs and the bases loaded, Mongiello hit a grand slam to center field to put the game out of reach at 10-0.

Mongiello was 3-for-4 at the plate with a grand slam, a run scored and 5 RBI, while Anderson had three hits, an RBI and scored three runs.

Webb (12-4) pitched five no-hit innings with a game-high seven strikeouts.

The NCAA has made a change in its regional format for the 2014 NCAA Division III Softball Championship. This year the event will feature 16 regional championships (14 four-team sites and two three-team sites) with a standard double-elimination format. The 16 regional winners will advance to eight super regional sites and play a best-of-three series for the right to move onto the national championship, which will be in Tyler, Texas.

The NCAA Selection Show will be held on Monday, May 5th at 10:00 a.m. on NCAA.com.