2011 Farmingdale State Softball Preview

2011 Farmingdale State Softball Preview
Aubrey Walker

2011 Farmingdale State Softball Preview

- Rams Look to Continue Success with Experience -

Farmingdale, N.Y. - The Farmingdale State softball team boasts an experienced squad this year, returning their entire starting lineup. Last season, the Rams fell in the Skyline Championship game, an 8-7 extra-inning loss in game two against NYU-Poly, before claiming the schools' first-ever ECAC Metro Region Championship as the third seed. Farmingdale defeated #2 Richard Stockton, #1 Ramapo and then Stockton again to claim the Title.

Also in 2010, the Rams finished 2nd in all of Division III for Batting Average and 3rd for Slugging percentage. They posted the highest team batting average in school history (.362), the most hits (438), scored the most runs (350), and had the highest slugging percentage (.567)…after recording 140 extra-base hits, including another school record - 46 home runs.

The offense returns senior shortstop Nicole Farber (the two-time reigning Player of the Year) and the defense will be anchored by junior pitcher Hope Zino (the two-time reigning Pitcher of the Year) and senior pitcher Heather Buckshaw (the 2010 ECAC Metro Tournament MVP). Farber holds nearly every school record at the College, Zino holds school records for lowest ERA and most strikeouts and Buckshaw has the most wins in Farmingdale State history. The Rams' pitching tandem combined for 26 wins and 11 shutouts last season.

Junior first baseman Aubrey Walker, junior center fielder Kaitlin Keenan, junior left fielder Rebecca Richman and sophomore third baseman Kristen Flint also highlight the starters from last season. Walker led the team with 12 homers in 2010 (18th in the Nation), while all four were selected All-Conference and batted over .360 with 50 hits or more.

The Rams open the season on March 12th at the Rebel Spring Games in Kissimmee, Florida. They play 10 games against various schools from around the country, including Roger Williams (R.I.), Marian (Ind.), Nazareth (N.Y.), Framingham State (Mass.), Utica (N.Y.), Westminster (Pa.), Hood (Md.), Skidmore (N.Y.), St. Norbert (Wisc.) and Montclair State (N.J.).

To view the team's entire schedule, click HERE.