13 Individuals and Three Relays Named CTC All-Conference

13 Individuals and Three Relays Named CTC All-Conference

13 Individuals and Three Relays Named CTC All-Conference

- Rams Men and Women Highlight CTC All-Conference Teams -

The Collegiate Track Conference released their first-ever Outdoor Track All-Conference Teams for the 2011 season and Farmingdale State's men's team had eight individuals and two Relay teams named to the list, while the women had five individuals and one Relay team selected.

For the men, four individuals were named to the First Team, including senior Gregory Denis for the 400m Hurdles, junior Sean Tiernan for the 3000m Steeplechase, sophomore John Verderber for the Pole Vault, and senior Qasim Ellis for the Triple Jump and Long Jump. Denis has provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships in the 400m Hurdles, and is now ranked second all-time at Farmingdale State College. Tiernan won the Steeplechase event at the Richard Stockton quad meet this season. Verderber is currently third on Farmingdale State's All-Time Pole Vault list. Ellis has qualified again for the ECAC's in both events, and also qualified for the NCAA's in the Triple Jump.

The women's team had two individuals listed on the First Team, including sophomore Corine Magee in two events, the 100m Dash and 200m Dash, and sophomore Faustine Chukwuezi for the Triple Jump. Both are the school record holders in their respective events.

The Women's 4x100m Relay team and the Men's 4x400m Relay team also received First Team honors. The women's team broke the school record this season and have provisionally qualified for the NCAA's, while the men's team is currently qualified for the ECAC's.

Those named to the Second Team were Donnell Jones for the Long Jump, Victoria Mandat for the 100m Hurdles, Joanna Pavone in the Pole Vault and Faustine Chukwuezi for the Long Jump. Jones is currently 14th in Division III for his performance in the Long Jump, Mandat is qualified for the ECAC's in her event, Pavone is 2nd on the Farmingdale State All-Time list and Chukwuezi is qualified for the ECAC's in the Long Jump.

Honorable Mention winners were: Marjorie Diemicke for the 400m Hurdles, Deshaun Thomas for the 100 and 200 meters, Steven Brown for both the 100m and 400m Hurdles and the High Jump, the 4x100m Relay team, and Edward Brown for the Discus and Hammer Throw.