Four Rams Named All-Conference for Men's Lacrosse; Capone Earns Defensive Player of the Year Honors

Picture of Skyline Logo

New York, N.Y. - In voting conducted by the league's seven head coaches, the Skyline Conference has announced the 2018 men's lacrosse all-conference team. Farmingdale State had four student-athletes named all-conference this year.

Senior long-stick midfielder Nick Capone (West Islip, N.Y.) was named First Team All-Conference and Defensive Player of the Year, while junior midfielder James Ragland (Seaford, N.Y.) and senior defender Nick Perrone (Northport, N.Y.) were each named to the First Team. Junior goalkeeper Dan Wood (East Meadow, N.Y.) earned Second Team All-Conference honors.

Capone led Farmingdale State in both caused turnovers and ground balls this season. In the Skyline, he led in caused turnovers, ranked second for caused turnovers per game, sixth in ground balls and was ninth in ground balls per game. Capone is also ranked 70th in the NCAA for caused turnovers per game. From his defensive position this year, he added nine points on three goals and six assists.

Ragland led the team in man-up goals, ranked second in goals and third for assists. He scored three or more goals in six games with a season-high five versus Purchase on April 14th. In the NCAA, Ragland is ranked 99th for man-up goals.

Perrone was second on FSC in caused turnovers and fifth for ground balls this year. In the Skyline, he ranked third in caused turnovers and ninth for caused turnovers per game. In the matchups against Neumann and Maritime, Perrone caused four turnovers per game.

Wood led the conference in goals against average, was third for save percentage, fourth in saves and sixth for saves per game. In the NCAA, Wood is 33rd in goals against average and 57th for save percentage. He recorded double-digit saves in four games, including 15 twice (USMMA & Skidmore).


2018 Skyline Conference Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

First Team
A – Pat Coll, USMMA (Sr., Clifton Pk., N.Y.)
*** A – Matt DeMeo, Maritime (Fr., Sayville, N.Y.)
A – Nick Pellegrino, Maritime (Sr., Melville, N.Y.)
* A – Nick Treon, USMMA (Sr., Danville, Pa.)
M – Dylan De Meo, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Franklin Sq., N.Y.)
M – James Ragland, Farmingdale State (Jr., Seaford, N.Y.)
M – Nick Roros, USMMA (So., Northport, N.Y.)
D – Mark Buchner, Maritime (So., Wantagh, N.Y.)
D – Nick Perrone, Farmingdale State (Sr., Northport, N.Y.)
D – Nick Vinberg, USMMA (So., Massapequa Pk., N.Y.)
G – Brendan McNally, Maritime (Sr., Long Beach, N.Y.)
** LSM – Nick Capone, Farmingdale State (Sr., W. Islip, N.Y.)
LSM – James Fitzgerald, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., Cortlandt Manor, N.Y.)
SSDM – Lane Schmidt, USMMA (Jr., North East, Md.)
FO – Kyle Buser, USMMA (Fr., Babylon, N.Y.)
Second Team
A – Tristan Earle, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Millrift, Pa.)
A – Casey Hickey, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., E. Quogue, N.Y.)
A – Jack Renard, USMMA (Jr., San Clemente, Calif.)
M – Dylan Gethicker, Purchase (Jr., Lime Lake, N.Y.)
M – Zak Jones, St. Joseph's-L.I. (So., E. Quogue, N.Y.)
M – Danny Kugler, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Wappingers Falls, N.Y.)
D – Danny Marshall, Mount Saint Mary (Fr., Oceanside, N.Y.)
D – Matthew Martino, Mount Saint Mary (Fr., Watertown, Conn.)
D – Christian Prate, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Jr., W. Islip, N.Y.)
G – Dan Wood, Farmingdale State  (Jr., E. Meadow, N.Y.)
LSM – Tommy Johnson, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., Eastport, N.Y.)
SSDM – Bryan Keegan, Maritime (Fr., Lake Grove, N.Y.)
FO – Declan Canevari, St. Joseph's-L.I. (So., Lake Grove, N.Y.)

* Offensive Player of the Year: Nick Treon, USMMA
** Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Capone, Farmingdale State
*** Rookie of the Year: Matt DeMeo, Maritime
Coach of the Year: Daniel Lawrence, Maritime (ninth season)