Men's Lacrosse has Six All-Conference Selections; Chamberlain Named Coach of the Year

Men's Lacrosse has Six All-Conference Selections; Chamberlain Named Coach of the Year

New York, N.Y. - The Farmingdale State men's lacrosse team had six players named All-Conference in voting conducted by the league's seven head coaches. Head Coach Sean Chamberlain, in his second season at the helm of the Rams, was named Skyline Conference Coach of the Year.

Sophomore attack Michael Cegielski (Somers, N.Y.), senior defender Dylan Bates* (Wading River, N.Y.), senior defender Matthew Brendel* (Hicksville, N.Y.) and senior goalkeeper Thomas Fallon (Kings Park, N.Y.) each earned First Team honors, while senior midfielder Derrick Sherrod (Huntington, N.Y.) and sophomore LSM Nick Capone (West Islip, N.Y.) were named to the Second Team.

Cegielski led Farmingdale State in goals (41), assists (22), points (63) and game-winning scores (5), ranked third in man-up goals (4) and seventh for ground balls (34). In the Skyline, Cegielski was second in goals per game (2.41), third in points per game (3.71) and fifth for assists per game (1.29).

Bates caused a team-leading 35 turnovers this season and was sixth on the Rams with 38 ground balls. He finished the year ranked 67th in the Nation for caused turnovers per game (2.06) and tied the FSC single-season record for caused turnovers.

Brendel ranked third on the Rams in both caused turnovers (32) and ground balls (50). Brendel along with Bates anchored the Skyline Conference's top defense which ranked third in Division III for caused turnovers per game (13.76).

Fallon started every game in goal and led the conference in goals against average (6.99) and was second for save percentage (.556). In Division III, he ranked 12th for goals against average and 58th in save percentage.

Sherrod was second on FSC in game-winning goals (2), third in goals (18) and fourth for both assists (9) and points (27).

Capone caused a team-high 35 turnovers and led the way with 62 ground balls. Capone tied Bates for the single-season school record in caused turnovers this season.

Chamberlain led Farmingdale State to a 12-5 record in 2016 and the #3 seed for the Skyline Conference Playoffs.


2016 Skyline Conference Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

First Team:
Michael Cegielski - Farmingdale State - So. - A - Somers, N.Y.
Don Finn - Montclair State - Sr. - A - Wall, N.J.
Brett Mangan - Montclair State - Sr. - A - Maplewood, N.J.
Dylan De Meo - Mount Saint Mary - So. - M - Franklin Sq., N.Y.
Tommy Gallo - Stockton - Fr. - M - Clinton, N.J.
Anthony Perrotta - Kean - Sr. - M - Roseland, N.J.
Zach Schreck* - Montclair State - Sr. - M - Flemington, N.J.
Ryan Totin - Montclair State - Sr. - LSM - Jackson, N.J.
Steve Danyluk - Montclair State - Sr. - SSM - Raritan, N.J.
Tyler Bollard - Stockton - Fr. - F/O M - Philadelphia, Pa.
Blase Mantineo - Montclair State - Jr. - F/O M - Flemington, N.J.
Dylan Bates - Farmingdale State - Sr. - D - Wading River, N.Y.
Matthew Brendel - Farmingdale State - Sr. - D - Hicksville, N.Y.
Alex DiClemente - Stockton - Sr. - D - Wyckoff, N.J.
Ryan Young** - Montclair State - Jr. - D - Jackson, N.J.
Thomas Fallon - Farmingdale State - Sr. - GK - Kings Park, N.Y.

Second Team:
Vincent Manasia - Stockton - Sr. - A - Clark, N.J.
James O'Donnell - Stockton - Sr. - A - Mt. Laurel, N.J.
Matt Speciale - Kean - Sr. - A - Hillsborough, N.J.
Zack Aho - Stockton - So. - M - Shamong, N.J.
Connor Cunningham - Montclair State - Sr. - M - Jackson, N.J.
Guy Loggi - Stockton - Sr. - M - Somers Pt., N.J.
Derrick Sherrod - Farmingdale State - Sr. - M - Huntington, N.Y.
Nick Capone - Farmingdale State - So. - LSM - W. Islip, N.Y.
Mike Cestaro - Kean - Sr. - SSM - W. Islip, N.Y.
Ed Adams - Kean - Sr. - F/O M - Montclair, N.J.
Ryan Anzalone - Montclair State - Jr. - D - Colts Neck, N.J.
Max Beck - Stockton - Sr. - D - Marlton, N.J.
Tyler Randolph - Kean - Jr. - D - Oldwick, N.J.
Jonathan Strezenec - Maritime - Sr. - D - Merrick, N.Y.
Ciro Ulinski - Kean - Sr. - D - Toms River, N.J.
Max Fields - Kean - Sr. - GK - Wayne, N.J.

* Offensive Player of the Year: Zach Schreck, Montclair State
** Defensive Player of the Year: Ryan Young, Montclair State
Rookie of the Year: Tyler Bollard, Stockton
Coach of the Year: Sean Chamberlain, Farmingdale State (second season)


To view the complete Skyline Conference release, click HERE.