Riefenstahl Named Rookie of the Year; Kinard Earns Second Team Honors

Riefenstahl Named Rookie of the Year; Kinard Earns Second Team Honors

- Riefenstahl, Kinard and Coach Garner All-Conference Distinction -

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference released the 2015-16 Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams in voting conducted by the league's 11 head coaches. Farmingdale State freshman forward George Riefenstahl (Bayport, N.Y.) was named Rookie of the Year, sophomore guard Trey Kinard (Deer Park, N.Y.) earned Second Team honors and Brendan Twomey was named the Coach of the Year.

Riefenstahl, who started 23-of-26 games in his rookie campaign, averaged 9.3 points and 6.7 rebounds. He led the conference in field goal percentage (.583), ranked eighth for blocked shots (28) and was 13th in rebounding. He also finished second on the team in rebounding and fourth in scoring. Riefenstahl's 28 blocks ranks fifth all-time at FSC for blocks in a season. He was named Skyline Conference Rookie of the Week four times and tallied three double-doubles on the year.

Kinard appeared in every game and averaged a team-leading 11.0 points per game, while shooting a team-high 82-percent from the free-throw line. Kinard hit 51 3-pointers and shot 38-percent from the field, while adding 29 assists and 28 steals. In the conference, he ranked fifth for 3-pointers made and 12th in 3-point shooting percentage.

Twomey, in his third season as head coach of the Rams, is receiving his first Skyline Conference Coach of the Year award. Twomey and first-year assistant Steve Raisfeld led FSC to a 14-12 record and the #3 seed for the Conference Championship.


2015-16 Skyline Men's Basketball All-Confernce Team

First Team:
Melvin Ford Sage - Sr. - F - Voorhees, N.J.
Andy Laurent - St. Joseph's (L.I.) - Jr. - G - Amityville, N.Y.
Patrick MacDonald - Maritime - So. - C - Buffalo, N.Y.
Matt O'Neill - St. Joseph's (Bklyn.) - Sr. - G - Brooklyn, N.Y.
Shelby Rosenberg - Yeshiva - Sr. - F - Woodmere, N.Y.
Jamail Stanley* - Old Westbury - Jr. - G - Syracuse, N.Y.

Second Team:
Jamir Ferebee - Mount Saint Vincent - So. - G - Staten Island, N.Y.
Trey Kinard - Farmingdale State - So. - G - Deer Park, N.Y.
Michael Megafu - St. Joseph's (Bklyn.) - Sr. - F - Jamaica, N.Y.
P.J. Page - Old Westbury - Sr. - F - Copiague, N.Y.
Andre Robinson - Sage - Sr. - G - Ft. Pierce, Fla.

* Player of the Year: Jamail Stanley, Old Westbury
Defensive Player of the Year: Travis Gill, Sage (Sr., G/F; Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Rookie of the Year: George Riefenstahl, Farmingdale State (Fr., F; Bayport, N.Y.)
Coach of the Year: Brendan Twomey, Farmingdale State (third season)


To view the complete Skyline Conference release, click HERE.