Matthews Earns First Team All-Conference Honors

Skyline logo
Skyline logo

New York, N.Y. - The Skyline Conference released the 2012-13 men's basketball All-Conference team on Thursday, February 21st. Senior forward AJ Matthews (Brooklyn, N.Y.) earned First Team All-Skyline honors.

Matthews led the conference in scoring, rebounding (off & def) and blocks and ranked fourth in field goal percentage. He leads the nation in rebounding, is ranked second for double-doubles, eighth for blocks and 11th in scoring. Matthews scored his 1,000th career point in just his 45th game played on February 2nd. Before the season, he was named DIII News Preseason Player of the Year and a Preseason All-American.

Junior Tyrik Tucker of Old Westbury has been named the 2012-13 Skyline Men's Basketball Player of the Year.


Tyrik Tucker* - Old Westbury - Jr. - G/F - Brooklyn, N.Y.
Gil Bash - Yeshiva - Sr. - F - Tel Aviv, Israel
Craig Davis - Purchase - Sr. - C - Queens, N.Y.
Donte Howell - Mount Saint Mary - Jr. - G - Baldwin, N.Y.
AJ Matthews - Farmingdale State - Sr. - F - Brooklyn, N.Y.
Kerel Mitchell - Old Westbury - Sr. - G - Brooklyn, N.Y.

Joe Henain - Mount Saint Mary - Jr. - F - Hopewell Junction, N.Y.
Mason Horne - Sage - Jr. - F - Albany, N.Y.
Rashawn McCarthy - Old Westbury - Sr. - G - Westbury, N.Y.
Andre Nixon - Purchase - Jr. - G - Harlem, N.Y.
James Zuccaro - Mount Saint Vincent - Jr. - G/F - Gilbert, Ariz.

*Player of the Year: Tyrik Tucker, Old Westbury
Rookie of the Year: Jamel Gist, NYU-Poly
Coach of the Year: Bernard Tomlin, Old Westbury
Team Sportsmanship Award: Maritime

To view the complete Skyline Conference release, Click HERE.