Skyline Announces 2012 Fall Scholar-Athletes and Honor Roll

Skyline logo
Skyline logo

371 Skyline Student-Athletes Make Academic Honor Roll List

NEW YORK, N.Y. - The following nine student-athletes have been named the 2012 Skyline Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year in their respective fall sports:

  • Men’s Soccer - John Dettori, Senior, St. Joseph’s-L.I.
  • Women’s Soccer - Ashley George, Senior, St. Joseph’s-L.I. / Abigail Katz, Senior, Purchase
  • Women’s Tennis - Alex Bentz, Sophomore, Farmingdale State
  • Men’s Golf - Matthew Pollock, Sophomore, Farmingdale State
  • Women’s Volleyball - Corey Loupee, Senior, NYU-Poly
  • Men’s Cross Country - Evan Haun, Junior, St. Joseph’s-L.I.
  • Women’s Cross Country - Caitlyn Ryan, Junior, St. Joseph’s-L.I. / Rachel Sleeter, Junior, Mount Saint Mary

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award in each fall sport is presented to the first-team All-Conference performer who carries the highest grade point average for the fall semester.

Dettori garnered 2012 Skyline Player of the Year distinction after tallying 21 goals and led St. Joseph’s-L.I. to the league title. He earns his fourth Men’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.

George repeats as the Women’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year after starting all 22 contests for the Golden Eagles at defender and was named to the NSCAA All-East Region Scholar Team. She shares the honor with Abigail Katz of Purchase, who compiled 15 goals and 32 points and finished her stellar career with a program-record 52 goals.

Bentz posted an 8-4 record at the No. 2 singles flight while leading Farmingdale State to its first-ever appearance in the finals of the Skyline Championship.

Pollock finished runner-up at the 2012 Skyline Championship with rounds of 76 and 78, respectively, as the Rams earned their fifth consecutive men’s golf crown.

Loupee earns her second consecutive Women’s Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor after becoming just the third student-athlete in program history to compile 1,000 digs and 1,000 kills for her career.

Haun placed seventh overall at the 2012 Skyline Cross Country Championship as St. Joseph’s-L.I. earned its third straight conference title. He has been named the Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year in each of the last three seasons.

Ryan repeats as the Women’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year after finishing fifth overall at the 2012 Skyline Championship as the Golden Eagles seized their fourth consecutive league championship. She shares the honor with Rachel Sleeter of Mount Saint Mary, who placed seventh at the Skyline Championship and finished in the top-10 at three additional meets during the 2012 campaign.


Commissioner Linda Bruno has announced the Academic Honor Roll for the Fall 2012 semester, which honors student-athletes in the conference with a 3.30 grade point average or better while competing in men’s and women’s soccer, men’s golf, cross country, women’s tennis and women’s volleyball.

"It’s an honor to recognize these student-athletes who truly exemplify what the student-athlete experience is all about," says Bruno. "Their commitment to athletic and academic achievement is inspiring and should serve as an example to all."

Listed below are FSC's members of the Academic Honor Roll for the Fall of 2012:

Brian Anderson - Sr. - Men’s Soccer
Jason Bohman - So. - Men’s Soccer
Sean Brady - Fr. - Men’s Soccer
J.T. Famularo - Fr. - Men’s Soccer
Jose Ipince - Sr. - Men’s Soccer
Renato Ipince - Jr. - Men’s Soccer
Joseph Lipsky - Jr. - Men’s Soccer
Tyler Rollman - Jr. - Men’s Soccer
Victor Romero - Fr. - Men’s Soccer
Christine Campanello - So. - Women’s Soccer
Katelyn Hayes - Jr. - Women’s Soccer
Samantha Johrden - So. - Women’s Soccer
Jacqueline LaMay - Fr. - Women’s Soccer
Jillian Lasota - Sr. - Women’s Soccer
Theresa Martorano - Sr. - Women’s Soccer
Shannon Murphy - Fr. - Women’s Soccer
Stacey Rao - Sr. - Women’s Soccer
Alexandra Bentz - So. - Women’s Tennis
Denise Liguori - Fr. - Women’s Tennis
Amanda Vecchio - So. - Women’s Tennis
Matthew Collorafi - Jr. - Men’s Cross Country
Patrick DiMaria - Fr. - Men’s Cross Country
Brandon Yip - Fr. - Men’s Cross Country
Marjorie Diemicke - Sr. - Women’s Cross Country
Paola Dominguez - Fr. - Women’s Cross Country
Kazia Garvey - Fr. - Women’s Cross Country
Laura Urena - Fr. - Women’s Cross Country
Kenia Peralta - Fr. - Women’s Volleyball
Holly Sahner - Sr. - Women’s Volleyball
Morgan Valinoti - Fr. - Women’s Volleyball
Nicole Wenke - So. - Women’s Volleyball
Veronica Widmaier - Jr. - Women’s Volleyball
Matthew Pollock - So. - Men’s Golf
Brendan Williams - Fr. - Men’s Golf

To view the entire 371 members of the Fall Skyline Academic Honor Roll, click HERE.


* 450 Seventh Ave., Suite 506, New York, NY 10123 *