Rams Capture Fifth Straight Skyline Conference Golf Championship

Rams Capture Fifth Straight Skyline Conference Golf Championship

- Larkin Sets School Record en route to Individual Medalist Honors -

Skyline Conference Golf Championship

Bethpage State Park - Red Course, Par 70 - 6,850 Yards

Weather - 65 Degrees, Breezy

Farmingdale, N.Y. - The Farmingdale State men’s golf team captured the 2012 Skyline Conference Championship this afternoon at the Bethpage State Park Red Course. The Rams posted a two-day team total of 610, finishing 43 strokes ahead of runner-up The Sage Colleges to earn their fifth consecutive conference championship.

Farmingdale State junior Adam Larkin (Bellmore, N.Y.) captured the individual title after shooting a school record 68 in today’s final round for a two-day total of 144. Larkin finished 10 shots ahead of sophomore Matt Pollock (Northport, N.Y.) who carded scores of 76 and 78 for a total of 154. Junior Rich Kelly (Oceanside, N.Y.) took third place individually after rounds of 77 and 78, while freshman Chris Brosi (Stony Brook, N.Y.) posted a two-day total of 155 (79-78) for a fourth place finish and was named the Skyline Conference Rookie of the Year. Freshman Scott Sessions (Pleasantville, N.Y.) finished tied for eighth place (83-80-163) individually for Farmingdale State.  

Purchase and St. Joseph’s College tied for third place after two-day totals of 660.

Farmingdale State earned the Skyline Conference’s automatic bid to the 2013 NCAA Division III Golf Championships, which will take place May 14-17 at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort in Destin, Florida.

2012 Skyline Conference All-Tournament Team:

First Team:

1. Adam Larkin, Farmingdale State (144) (Skyline Player of the Year)

2. Matt Pollock, Farmingdale State (154)

3. Rich Kelly, Farmingdale State (155)

4. Chris Brosi, Farmingdale State (157) (Skyline Rookie of the Year)

5. Richie Christman, The Sage Colleges (158)

Second Team:

6. Rory Mazur, Purchase (159)

7. Mike Wyckoff, Purchase (162)

T8. Christian Bleck, St. Joseph’s (163)

T8. Scott Sessions, Farmingdale State (163)

T10. Zac Campanelli, St. Joseph’s (164)

T10. Ian Pingelski, The Sage Colleges (164)

T10. Zach Sullivan, The Sage Colleges (164)


For complete tournament results, Click HERE.