Rams Capture Fourth Straight Skyline Conference Golf Championship

2011 Skyline Champions
2011 Skyline Champions

Bethpage State Park - Red Course - Par 70 - 6,750 Yards

- Chris Arnold earns individual medalist honors -

Farmingdale, N.Y. - The Farmingdale State men's golf team captured the 2011 Skyline Conference Championship this afternoon at the Bethpage State Park - Red Course in Farmingdale, N.Y. The Rams shot a two day team total of 610, finishing 21 strokes ahead of Sage to earn their fourth consecutive conference title and the fifth in the last six years. 

Senior Chris Arnold (Hauppauge, N.Y.) captured the individual title with rounds of 75 and 73 (148) for Farmingdale State. Arnold finished three shots ahead of teammate Rich Kelly (Oceanside, N.Y.) who posted a final round of 74 for a two day total of 151. Sophomore Adam Larkin (Bellmore, N.Y.) carded two rounds of 77 (154) for a fourth place finish. Sophomore John Michael Haining (Hauppauge, N.Y.) shot a 79 on day two, leading the Rams to a final round team total of 303.

Zach Meade of Sage finished in a tie for second place individually with Kelly after rounds of 76 and 75. Sean Sanders, the first round leader, posted an 84 in round two and finished in a tie for fifth.

Farmingdale State earned the Skyline Conference's automatic bid to the 2012 NCAA Division III National Championships held at Mission Inn Resort & Club in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida.

2011 Skyline Conference All-Tournament Team:

First Team:

Chris Arnold (148) Farmingdale State

Rich Kelly (151) Farmingdale State

Zach Meade (151) Sage

Adam Larkin (154) Farmingdale State

Sean Sanders (157) St. Joseph's

Dan Schulz (157) Sage

Second Team:

Zach Sullivan (158) Sage

John Michael Haining (161) Farmingdale State

P.J. LaPiana (162) St. Joseph's

Matt Pollock (163) Farmingdale State


For complete tournament results, Click HERE.