Rams Capture Third Straight Skyline Conference Championship

Rams Capture Third Straight Skyline Conference Championship

Bethpage State Park - Red Course - 6,900 Yards - Par 70

Farmingdale, N.Y. - The Farmingdale State men's golf team shot a two-day total of 597 (299-298) to capture their third straight Skyline Conference Championship. The Rams finished 30 strokes ahead of second place St. Joseph's College and earned the Conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Division III National Championships.

Tied entering the 36th hole with St. Joseph's Matt Ranum, freshman Adam Larkin (Bellmore, N.Y./Mepham) made a 15 foot birdie putt to capture the individual title. Larkin made the turn at three over par and shot a two-under 33 on the back nine en route to a final round 71. Larkin finished with a two-day total of 145 (74-71), one shot ahead of last year's Co-Champion Ranum.  

Freshman Rich Kelly (Oceanside, N.Y./Oceanside), who shot a 75 in round one, posted a final round 74 to finish in third place individually. Kelly shot 40 on the front nine today and came back with a one under par 34 on the back for a two-day total of 149. Senior Chris Arnold (Hauppauge, N.Y./Hauppauge) entered the final round with a share of the lead and shot a 77 to finish in fourth place. Junior Joe Arnold (West Islip, N.Y./Islip) shot a pair of 76's to take fifth place. Sophomore Jack McKerlie (Bethpage, N.Y./Bethpage) carded two rounds of 80 for the Rams (T8th). All five players from Farmingdale State received All-Conference honors.

Sage's Zack Meade finished in sixth with rounds of 79 and 74, while St. Joe's PJ LaPiana took seventh place (74-82).

St. Joseph's College finished in second place with a score of 627. Second year program The Sage Colleges, took third place with a two-day total of 647.

Farmingdale State will play in the Division III National Championships at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro, N.C. on May 10-13, 2011.


First Team All-Conference

Adam Larkin (145) Farmingdale State

Matt Ranum (146) St. Joseph's

Rich Kelly (149) Farmingdale State

Chris Arnold (151) Farmingdale State

Joe Arnold (152) Farmingdale State


Second Team All-Conference

Zach Meade (153) The Sage Colleges

PJ LaPiana (156) St. Joseph's

Ian Cumming (160) Purchase College

Jack McKerlie (160) Farmingdale State

Charlie Essig (161) St. Joseph's

Keith Rajakaruna (161) NYU - POLY